Philosophy is not science.

Discussion in 'General Philosophy' started by spuriousmonkey, Oct 21, 2005.

1. spuriousmonkey Banned Banned

A bright young student at one of America's finest Universities claims filosophy is not a science and has nothing to do with science.

I tried to explain to him that my PhD translates as a 'doctor in philosophy' and the science of biology used to be called 'natural philosophy'. And that there can be no such thing as science without philosophy. And that I actually had a PhD supervisor once who was a professor in the Philosophy of Science.

He told me I got my PhD at walmart.

Did I?

Or did I actually receive my PhD with the highest possible grade?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. duendy Registered Senior Member

he sounds like an arrogant twat

what IS science. it is empirical way of attempting to understand reality. they write a language which can be understood bothe by a Chinese person and a Irish person etc....in thatits supposed to be mor exact than the usual anguage we use, which may be ambigous in meaning

they then apply this language and then may see it corelates with the physical application of reality

scientists--positivist scientists--like to believe they are objective, but surely they are also subjective and have philosophical presumptions which they use to interpreat whatevr reults they get.....what did Oppenheimer famously say when he saw the Atom bomb explore into a mushroom......again?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Prince_James Plutarch (Mickey's Dog) Registered Senior Member

You are quite right. Science uses to be called "natural philosophy". Science is, and always will remain, the daughter of philosophy. There is, however, a difference betwixt science and philosophy as it stands now. One can speak of the two things differently.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Clockwood You Forgot Poland Registered Senior Member