What is a scientific reason to believe in AIDS?

Discussion in 'The Cesspool' started by MetaKron, Dec 17, 2006.

1. MetaKron Registered Senior Member

What scientific reasons do we have to believe in AIDS? Is the idea that "everyone knows" enough to justify this belief, and is that scientific? Or is there a chain of evidence that we can follow to an inescapable conclusion? Does AIDS satisfy the test that its supporting theories are falsifiable?

2. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. spidergoat pubic diorama Valued Senior Member

I cannot believe this well studied disease is a myth, but I'm not a doctor.

4. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. MetaKron Registered Senior Member

I think it takes a little more than that, Spidergoat.

6. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Billy T Use Sugar Cane Alcohol car Fuel Valued Senior Member

Everyone has and Immune system. People with aIDs have an Immune system which is Defficient. They were not born this way, but Acquired this problem. Hence, it is reasonable to say they have an Acquired Immune Defficiency, is it not.?

You probably want to know why do we think HIV is viral, so I will answer that:

One reasons is that the only medical agents that signifivcantly help are anti-viral agents.

Perhap this thread can now quietly go to the bottom of the pile? If not, please someone hi-jack it.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2006
  8. spuriousmonkey Banned Banned

From The American Heritage Science Dictionary:
    AIDS
    All steps of this process can be tested and are tested.

In itself AIDS is not a theory as you claim. It's the onset of a set of symptoms and infections typical of a person carrying the HIV virus. It's a disease.

HIV being the cause of AIDS is the theoretical part, or should I say was. It is the consensus of HIV/AIDS research that HIV does cause AIDS.