A physicist's thoughts on Chi flow

Discussion in 'Eastern Philosophy' started by sciguy137, Aug 10, 2010.

1. sciguy137 Registered Member

I posted this here, because it didn't seem to fit well elsewhere. I am an experimental solid state physicist. My wife and a friend who is a Philosophy professor go to an acupuncturist, and have had good results. I have two minor complaints so I went to see her too. When the needles are stuck in me, I can feel a very strong ebb and flow sensation in the area. It is somewhat diffuse, like a small wave that comes in and flows back out. The acupuncturist says it is the chi flow I am feeling. It is so strong, that it is easy to keep track of. There might be a little helicity to the ebb and flow, but it's hard to tell because it feels like a diffuse wave. I checked the rate, and it is 25 cycles per minute. My heart rate is just under 60 pulses per minute. (It takes some concentration to be able to sense both at the same time). My respiration rate is 8 to 10 per minute. If it is not chi, what is it? I can find no list in literature of any kind of diffuse flow (neurological?) throughout the body with that kind of frequency. The nearest I could find was the D-waves for brain activity, but those seem to bottom out above 30 per minute.

It is hard to detect without the needles, but not impossible now that I know what it feels like. But when she puts the needles in it is like an amplifier that turns the signal way way up. She says most people without training don't feel it, but I've always been highly sensitive to very subtle sensory feelings. I'm going to ask her if I can bring in some of my own probes and instruments to see if I can see this signal using lock-in amplifier techniques. I've got a number of ideas for how to see if I can find this signal electronically.

Are there any thoughts out there about what I'm feeling? Is chi another word for some kind of collective basal neurological communication.