Can psychics really see the past/future?

Discussion in 'Pseudoscience Archive' started by marysol2103, Sep 19, 2004.

1. marysol2103 Registered Member

I’m sure everyone has seen the signs for “$5 Psychic Readings” in their town or while traveling elsewhere. What I wanted to discuss here were your thoughts on using psychics for more than just personal entertainment, more specifically in police and detective work.

There’s been documented cases in the past where police haven’t been able to solve a crime, at which point they turn to a psychic for help. What I find the most interesting is when the psychics they hire actually solve the case.

What are your thoughts on this? What about using psychics to help solve some of the current investigations (such as the Peterson or Hacking trials?)

I’m not an expert myself on the topic, but I’ve been learning a bit more from a new show on Court TV called Psychic Detectives. It’s on Wednesday’s at 9:30pm in case you want to watch it too.

~ Marysol

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. craterchains (Norval What will you know tomorrow? Registered Senior Member

Not sure this belongs in Pseudoscience, but welcome to the forums.
    Many cases of help from "gifted ones" or those that have trained their cognitive senses to such a degree that they can detect things others can't are well documented.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. James R Just this guy, you know? Staff Member

Various police departments have collected statistics on how often psychics have helped in investigations. Those which have done so have found that, on average, psychics are no help at all. And in the odd cases where they have proven to be helpful, there has been no evidence that they used any mystical power to help.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. NanAutaben Registered Member