Compressed liquid energy storage?

Discussion in 'General Science & Technology' started by cato, Sep 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cato less hate, more science Registered Senior Member

hey all,

I watched a show recently (probably on discovery or something) about a company producing compressed air powered cars. I thought that was a novel idea, so I looked up the energy density of typical compressed air, and noted that it is at least an order of magnitude less than plain-o'l gasoline.

that got me thinking, why not compress something with more... potential, like water.

does anyone know how practical it is to compress water and release the energy into a small turbine or cylinder for propulsion?

I would think water could achieve higher energy densities, but I could be wrong. not my area of expertise. I am an expert at pushing bits around

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. mathman Valued Senior Member

For all practical purposes, such as the application you are suggesting, liquids are incompressible.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. cato less hate, more science Registered Senior Member

well, if a liquid contains gases (like water does) it will be compressible. so, I am basically talking about pressurized water. one wouldn't really need to significantly alter the density of the water, as long as it stores useful energy.

I was just thinking that the water would not be as susceptible to diabatic inefficiencies, like air is. however, I have very little chemistry under my belt, so i was hoping someone could shed some light for me.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. TBodillia Registered Senior Member

http://www.physlink.com/Education/askExperts/ae15.cfm

Question
    Can you compress a liquid (water)?

Answer