Deoderant or not?

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Flores, Nov 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Flores Registered Senior Member

I have been using deoderants/antiprespirants since I was ten years old, religiously every day after showering. I know that deorants prevents you from sweating and so where is this sweat stuff that is supposed to come out stored in? Does deoderants cause toxins build up within the bodies? Or do they just kill evil bacteria that we don't need at all, And are they linked to breast cancer in women?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. apendrapew Oral defecator Registered Senior Member

Um, actually it's not the deodorant that prevents you from sweating. The deodorant only covers up your stinkage. Anti-perspirant is the stuff that prevents sweat from accumulating on your skin. Some deodorants come with anti-perspirant and a lot don't. I don't think they kill a lot of bacteria (with the possible exception of Old Spice) I think we still make the toxins. They're just not as noticeable. I hope that answers some of your questions.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. cosmictraveler Be kind to yourself always. Valued Senior Member

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. BigBlueHead Great Tealnoggin! Registered Senior Member

I seem to recall that there was a study that linked anti-perspirants with lymphatic cancer in nurses - it was believed that applying the stuff many times without washing it off, and wearing several layers of clothing contributed to the problem.

This link may help -

http://www.cancerhelp.org.uk/help/default.asp?page=3943

8. Flores Registered Senior Member

Thank you Blue, but I hope the respectable UK cancer institute didn't rule out cancer under unyeilding stress of the powerfull cosmetic industry. I'll stick with cosmictraveler's suggestion and purchase some natural stuff that doesn't have aluminum.