Differential equations uh oh

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by Fudge Muffin, Jun 3, 2013.

1. Fudge Muffin Fudge Muffin Registered Senior Member

I was thinking there, if I was really pumped up for my physics exam, we could say the rate at which I write words is proportional to the number I have already written.

Then, I made a differential equation as normal... \( dW/dt = k dW \)

but then I got..

\( lnW = kt + c \)

which was all fine until i considered... hang on, at the start of the exam I have written no words. How could I take \( ln0 \) ????

I can progress no further!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Fraggle Rocker Staff Member

Obviously you can't start at zero because that's a singularity: before t=0 your speed was a constant 0. (If "singularity" is the right word--last time I studied this stuff was in 1963.) You have to take your first data point at, say, one minute into the exam.

BTW, the logarithm of zero is minus infinity. You might actually be able to plug that into your formula, but why bother?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Tach Banned Banned

Think about this: \(W(t)=e^{kt} e^C\)

If you think that at \(t=0\) you have written your first word, you get the boundary condition \(1=W(0)=e^C\) , meaning \(C=0\). So, \(W(t)=e^{kt} \).

You can get next \(k=\frac{dW}{dt}|_{t=0}\)

Last edited: Jun 4, 2013
  6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. eram Sciengineer Valued Senior Member

You could use dW/dt = kW, which would yield an exponential function.

8. Tach Banned Banned

He did, the \(dW\) in the RHS of his ODE is just a typo.

9. eram Sciengineer Valued Senior Member

Oh yeah.

@Fudge Muffin At t = 0, the exponential function already has a certain value. So perhaps you cheated and wrote some stuff before you were allowed to.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

10. ash64449 Registered Senior Member

What is typo?