Doctor Who - New Season

Discussion in 'SciFi & Fantasy' started by Liebling, Aug 27, 2012.

1. Liebling Doesn't Need to be Spoonfed. Valued Senior Member

Anyone looking forward to the new season coming up next week?

I'm not a huge Matt Smith fan and I am not liking a lot of the writers, but I do like Karen Gilliam and I really do like Riversong. I am a huge Doctor Who fan (I even carry a TARDIS lunchbox to work every day and own TARDIS shoes) but I am torn right now...

The stories are not true to cannon (way too many plot holes and deviations that make no sense in the Whoverse) and Matt Smith is a bumbling hispter of a Doctor that panders to the young and apparently not as bright or imaginative viewers.

I don't think Torchwood did well in the States because they tailored it to American viewers, and I think that's what Doctor Who is struggling with now. There's too much angsty weirdness for the sake of drama and not enough timey-wimey wibbly-wobbly stuff.

Anyone?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Jeeves Valued Senior Member

As a David Tennant fan, i'm leery of the next incarnation. Don't care much for the previous one, either. (No problem with Christopher Eccleston; it's the character i found a bit too ... sociapathic?) Of course we'll watch it - once.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. ScaryMonster I’m the whispered word. Valued Senior Member

I watched it when I was a little kid and Tom Baker was doing the role. I think that show jumped the shark after he quit.
    It's a bit childish for grown ups now.

Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
  6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Buddha12 Valued Senior Member