Evolution - please explain

Discussion in 'Biology & Genetics' started by root, Oct 7, 2005.

1. root Registered Senior Member

I notice some well qualified people on this forum, I am no scientist but I have a nagging, maybe stupid, question to ask regarding Evolution. I know more or less the workings of Evolution and can understand how abnormalities in the offspring of a creature can make it fitter for survival and how change can therefore be propagated through natural selection. This is all understandable as long we are talking about small changes that could bring immediate benefit to the creature (Like color change for example). I cannot see this functioning when we are talking about the development of something complex (like wings for example) that does not give the creature any advantage in the survival game while it is busy developing (over millions of years). I can only see that partly developed wings could be to the detriment of the animal. So the question: What is it that drives the development of a complex feature (like wings) over a period of millions of years?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. spidergoat pubic diorama Valued Senior Member

You are wrong when you say, "something complex... that does not give the creature any advantage in the survival game". This never happens. Besides survival, there is sexual selection that drives the development of something like a peacock's wings. Rudimentary wings served a purpose before flying. I have read that they were used by aquatic bugs for skimming the surface of water.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. kenworth dude...**** it,lets go bowling Registered Senior Member

and also for fast creatures to maintain balance while running.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. jayleew Who Cares Valued Senior Member

Good question, I've been trying to get answers myself:

http://www.sciforums.com/showthread.php?t=49053&page=1&pp=20