Homeless Veterans

Discussion in 'Ethics, Morality, & Justice' started by Thoreau, Nov 14, 2007.

1. Thoreau Valued Senior Member

So, statistics say that one out of every four veterans are homeless in America.

Why do you think this is?

As a veteran myself, I do not understand why there is such a high rate. I recently seperated the military and I have a wonderful, good paying job and a nice house.

I do realize that many careers in the military are those which you cannot transfer into the civilian world, such as being Infanty, Electronic Warfare, Armor maintenance and others. So I do see how that can provide difficulties in the sense that sometime they may feel that thier military careers where a waste since related jobs do not exist on the "outside".

However the military does pay for education for up to 10 years after you seperate with a current limit somewhere around $40,000 total. So if one applies themselves, such as I and many others have, it is not difficult to overcome that bump in the road and start a new life, so to speak.

What do you think?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tiassa Let us not launch the boat ... Valued Senior Member

The first thing that comes to mind is the state of the VA. Many of the homeless veterans suffer mental illness. Beyond that, I confess it's something I haven't spent much time considering. But we're about to see a new wave of dislocated veterans in the wake of the Bush Wars.

Thus, the general assertion would be that we, as a nation, as a community, simply don't give a rat's ass about our veterans. They may have given their health, their limbs, their very sanity, but paying tribute to these requires more than a lapel pin or a digital recording of "Taps" blaring over the cemetery. And apparently that's too much to ask.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. maxg Registered Senior Member