How to prove it? (apostol)

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by alyosha, Jun 14, 2006.

1. alyosha Registered Senior Member

I just purchased Tom Apostol's infamous calculus book. In the section on infimum and supremum, he notes, but does not prove, that sets such as all real z that satisfy z>x have no smallest member. Perhaps this is completely self evident (and it is) but many of his own proofs and those in the exercises involve proving things that are self evident to our intuition. The entire point, I suppose, is to verify that the axioms we have agreed to build our system on can at least be used to show things that are "self evident" to indeed be true. I have spent some time thinking about how this would be proved from the other axioms and theorems given in the book, but I am fairly new to the rigorous method. The opinions of those on this forum would be helpful. I imagine that any such proof would involve showing that a smallest member in such a set would make for a simple contradiction in inequalities, but, again, this concept seems so self evident that it is difficult to rid oneself of the stumbling block that is intuition.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. alyosha Registered Senior Member

By the way, if it is anything like his proof of the existence of unique nonnegative square roots for positive numbers using the concept of least upper bounds, then I believe all hope may be lost for me. That particular proof "makes sense", but just how one would come up with it......is beyond me at the moment. Maybe there is something more obvious than it seems about its construction, but in the condensed form it's given on the page it looks like the workings of a miracle.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Physics Monkey Snow Monkey and Physicist Registered Senior Member

Hi alyosha,