Logic referee giving a yellow card

Discussion in 'Religion Archives' started by Pookums, Oct 27, 1999.

1. Pookums Registered Senior Member

Hey folks,

A couple of points keep coming up on this site and it's really starting to annoy me. These have to do mostly with logic and the use of logic to 'prove' or 'disprove' the existance of a god.

Occum's Razor: Occum's Razor has been used as a logical basis to both argue for and against the existance of a god. As mentioned by others on this site (I think it was Plato), Occum's Razor is a weak stance. First, this is not even a logical rule: it's simply a cute quote made to generalize about situations (similar to Murphy's 'law'). Granted, it is often true that the simple answer is often the most correct, but this does not mean that it is always true. Trust me, as a scientist, I wish things were simple. Further, even when/if Occum's Razor is used in a logical argument, usually more information is known regarding the answers from which one can choose. For example, many false conclusions in science have been made that seemed the 'simplest' answer at the time was later determined to be wrong when more data through experiments were gained. This is simply not the case in a debate over the existance of a god; we don't know which answer would be simpler-there are too many unknowns. It comes down (again) to what one wants to believe (faith), and this is a weak logical basis.

God out of time: If a god is omnipotent, than by definition he/she/it can do whatever the heck they want, including having contact with a finite universe while being an infinite being. A god that is not omnipotent usually has nothing to do with current monotheist beliefs, therefore not a point of debate.

Cyclic arguments: 'The reason to exist is to exist'. I don't think anything more needs to be said.