New to philosophy

Discussion in 'General Philosophy' started by LBloomfield, May 2, 2012.

1. LBloomfield Registered Member

Hey guys, I'm to start a philosophy degree in october. I've little background knowlegde, but the subject has always interested me. I've bought several books, but the subject is so vast! Who and what subjects do peaople believe are good starting points? I've read Plato's Laches, Meno, Lysis and The Cave and Descartes' Discourse On The Method so far, all thoroughly enjoyed!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Buddha12 Valued Senior Member

Spelling would be a good place to begin with.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. LBloomfield Registered Member

Hehe, you're quite right! I deffinitely rely on spellchecker a bit too much.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Mr. Hamtastic whackawhackado! Registered Senior Member

Honestly, I'd recommend looking into Stephen Law's variety of books. We disagree when it comes to religion, but I find his writing engaging and thought provoking.

Personally, I have no degree in anything, so I'm strictly armchair philosophy. I see philosophy almost everywhere, though, not limited to any particular texts. I'm sure you'll have a reading list for your courses, though.

My favorite philosopher(sort of philosopher) would be Sun Tzu. There's tons of books about him and his writings, and it's probably comparatively light.

8. skaught The field its covered in blood Valued Senior Member

I'm partial to Nietzsche, and existential philosophies myself. Other than those, I'm not honestly too interested in the field. I used to be, but have lost interest in recent years.

9. C C Consular Corps - "the backbone of diplomacy" Valued Senior Member

10. Yazata Valued Senior Member

Good for you. I'm an old philosophy student myself.