Some thoughts on priceless distribution in a RBE

Discussion in 'Business & Economics' started by cosmictotem, Apr 7, 2016.

1. cosmictotem Registered Senior Member

I have been formulating some ideas while trying to tackle the calculation problem in a moneyless RBE.

At the moment, I'm concerned with arranging the RBE so items whose consumption would be curbed by being designated with high prices in a free market, would be controlled for specific consumption rather than allowing wasteful consumption for the general population without introducing prices.

I welcome specific feedback from BillyT and billvon as both have always provided me productive and knowledgeable challenges as tests to my proposals and ideas.

Here is my proposal for solving this:

If I'm a producer of a good such as a tractor, dump truck, satellite or any means of production or good with an intensive labor requirement and scare material use, etc.. unless I can easily produce a lot of that item, I'm going to be particular about who I give that good to. I'm not going to supply a free dump truck or cruise ship to Joe Schmo. If I build a single satellite, I'm going to give it to the people who can put it in space, not a deli shop owner (no offense) who is going to put it in his backyard as a lawn ornament.

So although all items will be free, there will be a natural curb on distribution (that functions like pricing) at the point of production based on how involved the production methods required, the scarcity of the materials used and the projected use of the good.

A team of collaborative people are not going to spend their time collecting the material for a satellite, finding the people to design it, design it, build it and then give it away to just anyone unless satellites can be easily mass produced like cell phones or tvs.