Time is an illusion?

Discussion in 'Free Thoughts' started by wegs, Aug 28, 2016.

1. wegs Matter and Pixie Dust Valued Senior Member

It was reported/rumored that Albert Einstein, when he heard of his dear friend Michele Besso’s death, was quoted as saying:

“Now he has departed from this strange world a little ahead of me. That means nothing. People like us, who believe in physics, know that the distinction between past, present, and future is only a stubbornly persistent illusion.”

When I think of the concept of ''time'' I think of it only moving forward, but if time is but an illusion, that opinion would be incorrect, right? Can time actually be ''spent,'' or is that an illusion, as well?

2. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. exchemist Valued Senior Member

Be careful. Einstein did not say time is an illusion. He said our concepts of "past", "present" and "future" are an illusion. There is a difference. I'm no expert on relativity but I think what he was getting at is the idea in relativity that there is a "world line" for an object that shows the evolution of its position in 3 spatial coordinates plus one of time: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_line

From this 4D perspective, past, present and future seem unhelpful ideas. I think that's what he meant, or something like it.

wegs and ajanta like this.
  4. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. geordief Valued Senior Member

If anyone understands this Carl Sagan clip perhaps they could share .Personally I thought he was taking the piss but since he is so well thought of it is probably be down to my lack of comprehension or imagination

It is relevant to the topic.

wegs likes this.
  6. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. wegs Matter and Pixie Dust Valued Senior Member

That's a good catch, you're right - past, present and future are ways to describe time.

8. Seattle Valued Senior Member