What is a complex frequency?

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by arfa brane, Mar 4, 2020.

1. arfa brane call me arf Valued Senior Member

In electronics you use frequencies from the complex numbers. These have a real part (the cosine terms) and an imaginary part (the sine terms), so the Taylor expansions do too.

But why (use complex frequencies)? When I studied electronics this wasn't really explained, we just did it.
    That is, what motivation is there, as they say? How to justify this choice of an imaginary sine wave term or sum of terms?

Last edited: Mar 4, 2020
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. billvon Valued Senior Member

Because in electronics current is not always in phase with voltage.

Imagine an AC waveform feeding a resistor. Current and voltage are in phase; both are sine waves and they line up. In impedance terms the impedance is all real.

Now imagine it feeding a resistor and an inductor in series. Since it takes some time to build up the current in the inductor, the current will "lag" the voltage waveform. When the voltage is positive, the current will slowly become positive in the inductor; it will rise from zero to some value. When the voltage hits zero, now there's a lot of current in the inductor. Then the voltage reverses and the current slowly starts to reverse in the inductor. But since it takes some time, there is a period of time where voltage is negative and current is positive. Often this is described as the current lagging the voltage. (or the voltage leading the current.)

This may explain it better:

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

To have some way to express this, we use imaginary numbers, which allow you to express both a magnitude (the real part, or the voltage) and the phase difference of another part (the imaginary part, or the phase offset of the current.) This is important in designing complex high frequency networks like filters, antennas and transmission lines.