What is time?

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by MikeD22, Jun 21, 2002.

1. MikeD22 Registered Member

Forgive is this subject has already been brought up. I could find no thread that pertained to my question. I was wondering if anyone could help to explain, what is time. I am not talking about the man made time, A way to know when it is lunch time or how to determine velocities. I am wondering about time in terms of physics. Like does time have to "exist"? Is there any other way to get the leading theorys for explaining the universe to work without using a time component? Also, if for some reason time does have to "exist", Wouldn't there need to be some sort of quantum unit to transmit is "force" to other particles? I have very little background in physics, but this is a question that has bugged me for a while. I appreciate any insights anyone can give me.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Crisp Gone 4ever Registered Senior Member

Hi MikeD,

As far as I know, there is to date no physical theory that can explain where time comes from, or why it "evolves". Time is introduced as a variable parameter.

What probably comes closest to a "description" of time is the spacetime structure introduced in General Relativity.

Bye!

Crisp

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. allant Version 1.0 Registered Senior Member

Short answer no one knows. Long answer it is the something that gives an order to events. When two people (and other objects) are in the same place they can agree on the order things happen. This is what is meant by time. There is also a concept that certain things (clocks) repeat in a consistant way so that we can compare two (or more or many) devices and observe that the give a predictable ordering to events, and this is how we measure time.