Why should we design our machines to “seem” alive?

Discussion in 'Intelligence & Machines' started by needs_to_know, Apr 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. needs_to_know Registered Member

I am a college student new to the field of Artificial Intelligence and Artificial Life.

I am writing a paper for a class and wanted to know more information on why scientists, engineers, artists, etc. have been and are designing machines (ex: robots like COG and Kismet) to seem alive or human?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Balerion Banned Banned

Possibly because any real research needs funding, and the government is more likey to put money into projects that have already produced some results. i.e. a robot who has a voice and can say your name.

I think it's more show than anything. Nothing says that a computer 2,000 years from today has to look anything like a human, nor does it have to appear alive. I just believe a bipedal robot with a human shape catches the attention of prospective investors more easily.

JD

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Ophiolite Valued Senior Member

There are many reasons needs to know. Here are a few, as they occur to me, in no particular order.

1. If we can create an advanced AI it will give us improved understanding of how our own intelligence functions. This in turn could have impact on teaching methods.
    2. AIs could improve the quality (and safety) of almost anything we do. Consider an AI functioning as a doctor for example - combine the 'intuitive' diagnostic skills of a human doctor with the vast data base available to an AI.
    3. A 'simple' AI could improve the ease of use of many devices. e.g. GPS navigation system you could discuss routes with.
    4. An AI based in a robot body could function in environments hostile to humans.
    5. AIs could provide companionship for older people living alone.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement