Would it benefit the environment if everyone lived in cities?

Discussion in 'Science & Society' started by jps, Feb 20, 2005.

1. jps Valued Senior Member

Not being a scientist, I might be missing something here, but it seems to me that large cities must be far more environmentally sound than rural communities.
    There is the the obvious environmental benefit that subways and buses have over private cars, and the close proximity of residential and commercial areas makes many tasks that would require a substantial amount of driving in the country to be done on foot.
    In addition, tall apartment buildings allow thousands of people to live on an area of land that might house a couple of families in the country. A far more efficient usage.

It would be ironic if people's need to be in touch with nature is contributing to its destruction.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Roman Banned Banned

Cities have dense populations and still require lots of land to support them– mineral resources, agricultural and waterways. If everyone lived in cities, they would have no connection to nature, and not see any value in it. How can you value something you are not familiar with, and do not need?
    And nature would be cleared away to support cities.

The environmental footprint of small, rural communities is much less than that of megatropolii like Beijing or Mexico City.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Dr Lou Natic Unnecessary Surgeon Registered Senior Member

Correct, a city inherently has a huge amount of agricultural land supporting it.

It would benefit the environment if everyone had "a little house on the prairie". If every family had enough land for them to directly live off of, with their survival relying on the health of their territory.
    Even if every square metre of land was owned by someone and there were no wildlife reserves, the world would be a wildlife reserve with wild humans in it.