my first catholic church service...

weed_eater_guy

It ain't broke, don't fix it!
Registered Senior Member
Hi. First of all, I'm a non-denominational protestant, not by choice but by the fact that military bases only offer a "general protestant" service that I've gone to since I can remember. All good, I don't care, I'm just glad to be a christan. Also, I have kind of a bias against the catholic church as being an unnesscesary, and beaurocratic institution between me and my lord, but I respect it as it is still a church, just a church with one hell of a presence in the world.

Anyway, yesterday, I decided that since I had been sleeping through alot of church services (at 10 in the morning, and I'm a college freshman, you know the deal...), I'd go with a few of my catholic mates to St. Johns. It was interesting: Aside from not knowing everything to say and from doing the cross on my chest backward a few times, I liked it and felt like I could fit in here for a while. Honestly. It was refreshing, the sermon-giver (not sure if it's a priest, preacher, or pastor in the catholic setting) gave a good, engaging sermon, and I liked the experience, and I plan on doing it again.

I told another friend of mine that I went, cause this guy's a die-hard catholic and we've had a few friendly debates on the subject: protestant v. catholic. He was kinda buzzed untill he asked if I did communion. "Of course."