The Infinite and Eternal Jnana Mhaaaaaaadaaaaaay

Discussion in 'Eastern Philosophy' started by Spellbound, Oct 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spellbound Banned Valued Senior Member


    In the Quran, man’s hierarchical status above all beings is seen, as it states that God created humans in the fairest stature. Due to this occurrence the human is favored by God and is said to be given God’s light which leads through them to complete perfection. The previous saying illuminates the idea that behind the true objective behind creation is God’s desire to be known, which is fulfilled through the perfect human being. ... God’s essence is seen in the existent human being, as God is the object and humans being the mirrors. Meaning two things, that since humans are mere reflections of God there can be no distinction or separation between the two and without God the creatures would be non-existent. When an individual understands that there is no separation between human and God they begin on the path of ultimate oneness. The one who decides to walk in this oneness pursues the true reality and responds to God’s longing to be known. The search within for this Reality of oneness causes one to be reunited with God, as well as, improve self-consciousness."

    In Buddhism

    Jñāna (Sanskrit; Pali: ñāṇa) a term for "knowledge" in Indian philosophy and religion.

    In Tibetan Buddhism, it refers to pure awareness that is free of conceptual encumbrances, and is contrasted with vijnana, which is a moment of 'divided knowing'. Entrance to, and progression through the ten stages of Jnana/Bhimis, will lead one to complete enlightenment and nirvana.[2]
    In the
    Vipassanā tradition of Buddhism there are the following ñanas according to Mahasi Sayadaw.[3] As a person meditates these ñanas or "knowledges" will be experienced in order. The experience of each may be brief or may last for years and the subjective intensity of each is variable. Each ñana could also be considered a jhāna although many are not stable and the mind has no way to remain embedded in the experience. Experiencing all the ñanas will lead to the first of the Four stages of enlightenment then the cycle will start over at a subtler level.[3]
    1. Analytical Knowledge of Body and Mind (nama-rupa-pariccheda-ñana) (corresponds to 1st jhana)
    2. Knowledge by Discerning Conditionality (paccaya-pariggaha-ñana)
    3. Knowledge by Comprehension (sammasana-ñana)
    4. Knowledge of Arising and Passing Away (udayabbaya-ñana) (corresponds to 2nd jhana)
    5. Knowledge of Dissolution (bhanga-ñana) (corresponds to 3rd jhana)
    6. Awareness of Fearfulness (bhayatupatthana-ñana)
    7. Knowledge of Misery (adinava-ñana)
    8. Knowledge of Disgust (nibbida-ñana)
    9. Knowledge of Desire for Deliverance (muncitu-kamyata-ñana)
    10. Knowledge of Re-observation (patisankhanupassana-ñana)
    11. Knowledge of Equanimity about Formations (sankhar'upekkha-ñana) (corresponds to 4th jhana)
    12. Insight Leading to emergence (vutthanagamini-vipassana-ñana)
    13. Knowledge of Adaptation (anuloma-ñana) (one-time event)
    14. Maturity Knowledge (gotrabhu-ñana) (one-time event)
    15. Path Knowledge (magga-ñana) (one-time event)
    16. Fruition Knowledge (phala-ñana) (corresponds to Nibbāna)
    17. Knowledge of Reviewing (paccavekkhana-ñana)
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2015
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

    to hide all adverts.
  3. spidergoat pubic diorama Valued Senior Member

    Thanks Oprah. Should be reported for preaching.
  4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

    to hide all adverts.
  5. Kristoffer Giant Hyrax Valued Senior Member

    He didn't even bother giving us discussion points.
  6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

    to hide all adverts.
  7. James R Just this guy, you know? Staff Member

    No point of discussion raised. Thread closed.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page