Lichtenberg Figures

Discussion in 'General Science & Technology' started by ketralis, May 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ketralis Registered Member

I recently read an article about the production of Lichtenberg Figures and was wondering if anyone knows of a way that one might charge a block of acrylic without the use of a particle accelerator to produce these beautiful sculptures. As I am just fresh out of large scale particle accelerators at the moment

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

I was thinking perhaps a high voltage power supply or small scale tesla coil. However, I am not very good with electronics and the like, and would be more likely than not to electrocute myself if I simply up and tried it on my own. It is for this reason that I have sought you who may well have more knowhow and experience than I in this matter I find so devilishly interesting.

Seriously though,
    If anyone has any ideas, or has played with creating Lichtenberg Figures on their own and had even a modicum of success, I would like to know how you have done it, or where I can search to find out for myself.

Thank you
    -Ketralis

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. chimpkin C'mon, get happy! Registered Senior Member

So according to the wikipedia page:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lichtenberg_figure

You can use leyden jars:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leyden_jar

Which is something you could make an array of out of one-gallon pickle jars, there, sparky.
    I guess charge them off your car if you can't use A/C current-run jumper cables to the leyden jars?

Does anybody else here think that Rube Goldberg-y crap would work?

I wonder why you can't just use an arc welder?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. BertHickman Registered Member