Steam Powered Flying Vehicle?

Discussion in 'General Science & Technology' started by Kibbles, Feb 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kibbles Registered Senior Member

Hi. I'm fairly new to Sciforums and this is my first post. I'm a professional artist and amateur writer with a ot of enthusiasm for science but only some rudimentary scientific training. My interest in this forums isn't really that of hard science but more of as a reference for my writing.

So, what would it take to make a steam powered flying vehicle (Short of a miracle)?

Which of the Sciforums would be a better place for this post? I was directed here from Free Thoughts. Has anyone else wondered about this?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. dzerzhinsky Communist Registered Senior Member

A steam powered flying vehicle isn't really that complicated to make. You just need a lot a concentrated hydrogen peroxide, and some silver metal.

Silver metal is a catalyst, and causes hydrogen peroxide to explosively disassociate into O2 gas and steam. So basically you can just channel this explosive energy in any way you like and you've got a rocket motor powered on steam and oxygen.

This was the idea behind the development of some kind of jetpack quite a few years back. Didn't work out very well it seems, as you don't see them everywhere today. Probably because of the very limited amount of fuel it could carry. About 20-30 seconds of powered flight only.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bell_Rocket_Belt

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Renrue Someone Registered Senior Member

Kibbles,

I'm no expert in engineering, but I'd like to put my two cents in.