why epistemology?

Discussion in 'General Philosophy' started by ubermich, Jun 22, 2002.

1. ubermich amnesiac . . . Registered Senior Member

excuse for blurting out my objections, here. im a little newbie in both philosophy and on this forum.

but i have to say that ive grazed the philosophy-types on this forum, and most seem to have to deal with classical, or modern-enlightenment-based rational epistemology. ya know, those "lets categorize and compartmentalize the way we, as automatons, view the world."

it seems to me that these attempts at absolutism, not only for epistemology, but for any hard-core "science," as pointed out by postmodernism, are futile wastes of oxygen. its seems to be all about subjectivism after nietszche. (the culmination, ironically, of the rational, individualistic enlightenment turned on its origins.)

if that doesnt make sense, what im saying is that i CANT understand why people insist on wondering/trying to prove WHY we think, HOW we learn, WHETHER that pipe is really a pipe or just a figment of my imagination , blahblahblah.

i thought philosophy was about learning about HOW to live, not HOW to know the world objectively. cuz it aint gonna happen folks.

plz tell me why people philosophize on what seems to me to be a waste of ATPs

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tyler Registered Senior Member

"if that doesnt make sense, what im saying is that i CANT understand why people insist on wondering/trying to prove WHY we think,"

Becuase they can't accept the science behind things.

"HOW we learn"

The greater we understand how to learn the greater we will understand how to teach.

"WHETHER that pipe is really a pipe or just a figment of my imagination"

This question generally just pops up in rookie philosophers.

"thought philosophy was about learning about HOW to live"

Er, no. Philosophy involves a lot more than just that. That is abranch of philosophy.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement